header image

Bailey Lecture Series

This lecture series is the direct result of endowment funds given by the parishioners of All Saints’ Church to honor the many years of outstanding service of The Rt. Rev. Scott Field Bailey to All Saints’ as Rector from 1951-1961 and then as Bishop of the Diocese of West Texas from 1977 until his retirement in 1987. Each year this endowment fund is used to promote and bring in well known speakers to All Saints’ and offer their insights and expertise to the parish and the community at no charge.

The Rt. Rev. Scott Field Bailey died in San Antonio on April 9, 2005. He helped people realize the love of God within themselves and the love that God has for all people. It is with a special pride that we at All Saints’ Episcopal Church honor him with the Bailey Lecture Series. These lectures are open to the public and are offered at no charge, and no reservation is required.

The lectures take place on the campus of All Saints’ Episcopal Church, 209 West 27th Street, Austin, Texas. One block east of Guadalupe St., on the north edge of the University of Texas campus, between Whitis & University.

The typical schedule of events are:
7:00 p.m. 1st session
8:30 p.m. Wine & Cheese Reception

8:30 a.m. Arrival (Coffee and Pastries)
2nd Session
Break (Coffee and Pastries)
3rd session

9:00 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. Sermons
10:30 a.m. Q&A with Guest Lecturer

The Bailey Lecture Series is approved for CEUs (Continuing Education Unit for Clergy) by the Diocese of Texas.
Parking will be available at the Church, or several parking garages and parking lots in the area.

Previous Guest Lecturers for the Bailey Lecture Series:

2016 Lecturers: Dr. Randy Woodley, Elmer Atlookan, Robert Soto

2015 Lecturer: Micky Jones

2014 Lecturer: Peter Rollins

2013 Lecturer: The Rt. Rev. John Shelby Spong

2012 Lecturer & Series Title: Evan Smith
"Religion & Politics"

2011 Lecturer & Series Title: John Philip Newell
"A New Harmony: the Spirit, the Earth, and the Human Soul"

2010 Lecturer & Series Title: Dr. Judy Fentress-Williams
“The Book of Ruth: A Dialogue of Identity”

2009 Lecturer & Series Title: The Rev. Michael Russell
“The Genesis and Genius of Anglicanism”

2008 Lecturer & Series Title: The Rev. Stephanie Spellers
“Be Not Afraid: Becoming God’s Radically Welcoming People”

2007 Lecturer & Series Title: The Very Rev. Martha J. Horne
“Hospitality: A Central Theme in Scripture”

2006 Lecturer & Series Title: The Rev. Canon Eugene Taylor Sutton
“African American Spirituality: From Love to Justice”

2005 Lecturer & Series Title: The Very Rev. Alan Jones
“Re-imagining Christianity: Reconnecting Your Spirit Without Disconnecting Your Mind”

Service Times

(Choirs on break during Summer)